Photo: Manfred Klimek

Wolf D. Prix

Wolf D. Prix, born 1942 in Vienna, is co-founder, design principal and CEO of COOP HIMMELB(L)AU. He studied architecture at the Vienna University of Technology, the Architectural Association of London, and the Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc) in Los Angeles.

Wolf D. Prix is a member of the Austrian Federal Chamber of Architects and Consulting Engineers, the Association of German Architects, Germany (BDA), the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), the Architectural Association Santa Clara, Cuba, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architecture (FAIA), among others.
Wolf D. Prix has received numerous awards, including the Grand Austrian State Prize and the Austrian Decoration of Honor for Science and Art. He is a permanent member of the Austrian Senate for the Arts and the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, and has been Chairman of the Curia for the Arts since fall 2014.

Two universities have awarded him the degree of Doctor Honoris Causa: Universidad de Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina (2001) and “Ion Mincu” University of Architecture and Urbanism, Bucharest, Romania (2014). In 2015, he was awarded an honorary diploma from the Architectural Association of London.

Wolf D. Prix is counted among the founders of the deconstructivist architectural movement. COOP HIMMELB(L)AU had its international breakthrough with the invitation to the exhibition “Deconstructivist Architecture” at MoMA New York in 1988. Over the years, Wolf D. Prix/ COOP HIMMELB(L)AU has been awarded numerous international architectural prizes.

Menu

Foto: Manfred Klimek

Wolf D. Prix

Wolf D. Prix, geboren 1942 in Wien, ist Mitbegründer, Design Principal und CEO von COOP HIMMELB(L)AU. Er studierte Architektur an der Technischen Universität Wien, an der Architectural Association of London sowie am Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc) in Los Angeles.

Wolf D. Prix ist unter anderem Mitglied der Österreichischen Bundeskammer der Architekten und Ingenieurkonsulenten, des Bundes Deutscher Architekten, Deutschland (BDA), des Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), der Architectural Association Santa Clara, Kuba, sowie Fellow des American Institute of Architecture (FAIA).
Wolf D. Prix erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Großen Österreichischen Staatspreis und das Österreichische Ehrenzeichen für Wissenschaft und Kunst. Er ist ständiges Mitglied des Österreichischen Kunstsenats und der Europäischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste sowie seit Herbst 2014 Vorsitzender der Kurie für Kunst.

Zwei Universitäten haben ihm den Doktortitel Honoris Causa verliehen: Die Universidad de Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentinien (2001) und die “Ion Mincu” Universität für Architektur und Urbanismus, Bukarest, Rumänien (2014). Im Jahr 2015 wurde ihm ein Ehrendiplom der Architectural Association of London verliehen.

Wolf D. Prix wird zu den Begründern der dekonstruktivistischen Architekturbewegung gezählt. COOP HIMMELB(L)AU hatte seinen internationalen Durchbruch mit der Einladung zur Ausstellung “Deconstructivist Architecture” im MoMA New York 1988. Im Laufe der Jahre wurde Wolf D. Prix/ COOP HIMMELB(L)AU mit zahlreichen internationalen Architekturpreisen ausgezeichnet.

Menü